Dr James Bayley

Overview

I manage my projects using my own ElephantPM project management methodology. This is a similar in many ways to PRINCE2 but is greatly simplified so that it is suitable for use by smaller organisations.

My needs

ElephantPM divides the Start-up stage into an analysis step and a planning step. During the analysis step it is necessary to create several diagrams,

  • A mind map showing the output of the Discovery Workshop
  • An “org chart” showing the breakdown of the project into Business Deliverables
  • A flow chart showing the order in which Business Deliverables should be made
  • A diagram showing the relationship between stages and the production of Business Deliverables

During the planning step it is necessary to produce

  • Gantt Charts showing the Project Schedule and Stage Schedules

Current solution

Over the years I have used various tools to produce these charts but I have now settled on Freemind and Microsoft Project 2010.

View original post 1,313 more words

